Department of Anaesthesiology

About the Department / Program

The department was started in the year 2003. We now have eighteen faculties in our department, including seven professors. In addition, there are nine senior residents and fourteen academic junior residents working in the department. Annually, ten postgraduate students join the department for the MD Anaesthesia program.

We have twelve fully functional operating theatres and two minor operating theatres and cater to the following departments: general surgery, orthopaedics, obstetrics and gynaecology, surgical gastroenterology, ENT, ophthalmology, oral and maxillofacial surgery, urology, neurosurgery, plastic surgery, cardiology, cardiothoracic surgery, medical gastroenterology, radiology. The operating theatres are equipped with state of the art technology including anaesthesia workstations and an ultrasound machine(GE health care).

On an average, twenty-five to thirty major cases are done per day. These include major gastroenterological oncosurgeries, surgeries for head and neck malignancies, major joint replacement surgeries including hip and knee replacement, many of which are done on patients with multiple risk factors, cardiac surgeries, major neurosurgeries and spine surgeries. Also, anaesthesia is provided for safe laparoscopic or key hole surgeries, cosmetic surgeries and day care procedures. The practice of ultrasound-guided regional anaesthesia techniques provides superior pain relief to patients having traumatic fractures as well as gives long lasting analgesia after major surgeries like joint replacements.